Trinity St Mary's CE Primary School

Google Search
Google Translate

Get in touch

Contact Details

Board of Governors

Kindness, Unity & Courage 


'...but not so with you. Rather, let the greatest among you become as the youngest and the leader as one who serve.'

Luke 22 v 26

At Trinity St Mary’s, our Vision Statement and Values are fundamental in all that we do as a school and this includes guaranteeing our Board of Governors are proactively involved with the embedding of our Vision and Values through the work that they do; working collaboratively with the school as outlined below. We also recognise that effective safeguarding is the responsibility of the whole board and runs through all the work we do.


The Board of Governors comprises of 14 members:

  • 5 elected by St Mary & St John The Divine PCC;
  • 2 appointed by the Southwark Diocesan Board of Education;
  • 1 appointed by the Local Education Authority;
  • 2 elected by parents;
  • 1 staff Governor;
  • 1 co-opted Governor;
  • The Headteacher and Vicar of St Mary & St John The Divine Church (ex-officio) are also Governors.


Please see the Governor links below for a full list of the Board of Governors and their profile. If you require assistance from any of the Governors then, in the first instance, you should contact them through the school office.

The Chair of the Board of Governors

The Chair of the Board of Governors is Mrs Hayley Van Den Bergh.


The Vice Chair of the Board of Governors
The Vice Chairs of the Board of Governors are Ms Nicki Goddard and Miss Kirsty Howe. 


Committee Chairs:

The Chair of the Curriculum Committee is Ms Nicki Goddard.

The Chair of the Finance Committee is Mr Andrew Purkis.

The Chair of the Personnel Committee is Mrs Hayley Van Den Bergh.


‚ÄčGovernor Leads

The following Governors have designated roles to support and advise the development the Board of Governors. They are as follows:

  • The Designated Safeguarding Governor Leads at Trinity St Mary’s CE School are Mrs Hayley Van Den Bergh and Mrs Diane Holmes.
  • The Designated Online Safety Governor Lead at Trinity St Mary’s CE School is Mrs Hayley Van Den Bergh.
  • The Designated SEND Governor Lead at Trinity St Mary’s CE School is Ms Nicki Goddard.
  • The Designated GDPR Governor is Ms Jenny Kirby.
  • The Designated Governor who looks at Pupil Premium Funding is Ms Jenny Kirby.
  • The Designated Wellbeing Governor is Rev. Jonathan MacNeaney.


Clerk to the Governors - Mr John Winnifrith  -


Strategic Objectives

Children leaving Trinity St Mary’s will have high aspirations, underpinned by life skills and education to enable future choices. They will be positive contributors to society, both locally and globally, practising shared moral values with self-respect and a respect for others; leading to a fulfilling life.

We will do this by:

  • Ensuring the school’s financial stability to enable future choices.
  • Creating leadership throughout the school that is ambitious, flexible and encouraging.
  • Promoting continuous learning for all of our community.
  • Investing in a dynamic, high quality learning environment to support the curriculum and wider school life.
  • Being a centre of excellence and a school of choice.
  • Providing pastoral care for the whole community so everyone benefits from being part of our family.
  • Promoting well-being and resilience for the whole school community.

Governor Updates - 6th December 2023
Congratulations & welcome to Lizzie Davis on your appointment to the Governing Body.


Register of Pecuniary/Business Interest

The Governing Body is required to establish and maintain a register of pecuniary interests. This lists, for each member of the Governing Body and staff responsible for spending public funds, any business interests they, or any member of their immediate family have. This register is signed at every Full Governing Meeting and held in a locked drawer at Trinity St Mary's.

NB: If you require a paper copy of any non-confidential Governor minutes or would like to contact the Governors, please contact either John Winnifrith, Clerk to Governors on the above email address or email: 

Chair of Governors Address: Hayley Van Den Bergh,
                                                  Trinity St Mary's Primary School
                                                  6 Balham Park Road

                                                  SW12 8DR